Off colour

by thisnorthernboy

Recently I’ve found myself in a bit of a creative rut. I’ve been short of ideas and lacking the energy to get stuff done. It happens, and it passes, but when you’re in the middle of it, it can be such a pain.

Sometimes, all it takes to get out of a creative block is to change things up a little. So this week, struggling for inspiration I picked up some really cheap coloured pencils (£1.99 at the supermarket) and started scribbling.

Almost immediately the change of medium had a really positive effect. I’ve no idea why, but my sketching seemed looser, easier, and just flowed that bit better. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

Below are a few of the drawings that came out of this – I’m really happy with the feel of these, using something other than my usual pens certainly changed the results.

After getting some decent results with my super cheap pencils, I’ve now ordered some nicer ones – Faber Castell Polychromos. Looking forward to trying them out.